Skip to content

News Release: 07/07/2020

  • Share:
July 07, 2020
Toronto 51st Annual Apprentice Awards

Each year the Toronto Local Joint Apprenticeship Committee hosts an awards dinner to recognise graduates of the night school program and the winners of the Toronto Sheet Metal Apprentice Competition.

Those that have completed their apprenticeship and have obtained the Sheet Metal Worker Certificate of Qualification are also recognised. Of this group, the Allan Defoe Memorial Award is presented to the journey-person that achieved the highest averaged mark in combination of all 3 phases of night school and all 3 phases of day school. 

2020 marks the 51st anniversary of the awards but unfortunately due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 competition and the awards dinner were cancelled.   

The night school program for 2019-20 had 77 graduates of the Phase 1 program; 38 graduates of the Phase program and 25 graduates of the Phase 3 program. The apprentices that placed 1st and 2nd in their class are recognised with a cash prize award. The graduates of the Phase 3 program are also recognised for successfully completing the night school program which is one of the significant milestones required of the apprenticeship training.  
The Toronto LJAC is pleased to recognise the following top apprentices in their night school classes:
Phase 1 - First Place Phase 1 - Second Place
Patrick Bennett Jessica Burkley
Malcolm Cartwright Brandon Dawe
Isaac Dobos Mark Hardy Jr.
Luis Guedes Joseph Mitchell
Gregory Keenan Charlotte Nott
Michael Muto Thomas Paul
Brad Smith Larazo Reyes
Phase 2 - First Place Phase 2 - Second Place
Jonathon Gomes Antonio Iezzi
Cuyler Lau Trevor Peeters
Hayman Nsaif Ryan R. St.Pierre
Phase 3 - First Place Phase 3 - Second Place
Shaun Laroche Brandon Mol
Sawyer Smyth Calvin Spencer
The following are graduates of the night school program:
Phase 3 Graduates
Matthew Baranyai Blake Boyd 
Devin Burnie Guido Fabio Colagiacomo
Ryan Conium Daralyn Crawford
Justin Edmonstone Brandon Hayes
Gary W. Ingleston  Craig Jamieson
Thomas Kalenberg Shaun Laroche
Brandon Mol Justin Parsons
Matthew Parsons Cole Punkari
Jordan Ribeiro Jacobb Sheridan
Sawyer Smyth Calvin Spencer
Lionel Sykes Steven Vitorino
Michael Wall Matt Wendel
New journey-persons are:
Tyler Anderson Shaun Attard
Michael Boyd Danton Brinovic
Kole Clement Ryan Conium
Derek Dalziel Jason Durante
Bradley Evans Jose Gallegos
Kevin Gorrill Ryan Henderson
Cole Hoare Daen Hoare
Aadil Khan Brandon Link
Callum Lynch Iman Majelan
Parminder Makh William Malone
Michael Miller Ryan Moczerad
Norrin Murle Steven Pazder
Derek Percival Joseph Phillips
Vi Phung Shane Quirk
Elliot Ram Evan Shepley
Joe Snow Gary Sowden
Joseph Sparks Colin St.Amant
Gregory Vaillancourt Mitchell Vigna
Tyler Walsh Bryan Whyte
The Allan Defoe Memorial Award is presented to:
Danton Brinovic

The Toronto Local Joint Apprenticeship Committee congratulates all the apprentices for their achievements!